After a decade of competition, experience and exhilaration at the very top of the sport Shaun Simpson has become one of the UK’s best and best-loved off-road motorcycle racing athletes.

A promising teenage talent and son of seasoned Grand Prix campaigner Willie Simpson, Shaun seemed destined for one route in life. With his technically proficient father watching over his career and welfare and young brother Stefan wielding the spanners for almost ten years, the Simpson clan established a mark on international and national motocross that has included two British titles (2008 and 2014), a Belgian Championship (2011), Grand Prix wins (MX1 in 2013, MX2 moto victories in 2009) and four Team Great Britain representations at the prestigious Motocross of Nations.

He has also forged a high profile and reputation for accessibility, friendliness and for taking the time to engage with his wide legion of fans.

Shaun has long been one of the UK’s top Grand Prix athletes and arguably one of the best sand riders in the world.

Shaun’s Bio

First nameShaun
Marital StatusMarried
Current TeamSS24 KTM MXGP
MechanicWillie Simpson
Date of Birth13/03/1988
LanguagesEnglish – Dutch
Year Turned Pro2005
First GP Race WinValkenswaard 2009
First GP WinLierop 2013
Favourite DrinkCoffee
Favourite FoodMexican
Physical TrainerKev Maguire – Step 1 Fitness
FederationAuto Cycle Union – GB
HobbiesTrials, Swimming, Squash, Runnng, MTB, Cycling, BMX and Golf


2019 – MXGP 18th + MXON 3rd Team GB + British 2nd
2018 – MXGP 15th
2017 – MXGP 17th – MXGP Winner Indonesia
2016 – MXGP 10th – British 2nd
2015 – MXGP 4th + British Champion
2014 MXGP 7th + British Champion
2013 – 9th MX1 GP + MX1 GP Winner Lierop
2012 – 11th MX1 GP + British 2nd
2011 – 15th MX1 GP + Belgian Champion​
2010 – 8th MX2 GP​
2009 – 19th MX2 GP (Injury)​
2008 – 4th MX2 GP + British Champion​
2007 – 24th MX2 GP + 5th British​
2006 – 33rd MX2 GP + 6th British​
2005 – 31st MX2 GP + 7th British​
2004 – 44th MX2 GP + 13th British


2019 – RFX KTM
2018 – WILVO Yamaha MXGP
2017 – WILVO Yamaha MXGP
2016 – WILVO Virus Performance KTM
2015 – Hitachi Construction Machinery Revo KTM UK
2014 – Hitachi Construction Machinery UK KTM
2013 – Factory TM / JK SKS Gebben Yamaha
2012 – Factory Monster Energy Yamaha Dixon/Rinaldi​
2011 – LS Honda​
2010 – Factory KTM Red Bull Racing​
2009 – Factory KTM Red Bull Racing​
2008 – Team KTM UK​
2007 – Team Wulfsport Kawasaki​
2006 – Team Wulfsport Honda​
2005 – Team Lizard Honda​
2004 – Chambers KTM